A Light In The Dark

Out of a wardrobe
Into a wood
Treasured memories
Of a tattered childhood
A little light shining
On top of a pole
Guiding the way
Warming your soul
Through a frosty forest
And into the night
I can’t go too far
The lights not so bright
But into the dark
I ventured alone
What was left of my childhood
Now was all gone
I wandered alone
In the cold frosty dark
Scared and confused
By a world so stark
But still I ventured
On and on
Battling with demons
I battled alone
Scared and cold
And lost in the night
I realised I had to
Go back to the light
To walk in the dark
Is a scary thing
You can’t see what’s there
What the night will bring
Go back to the light
Stay safe in it’s glow
Be comforted by the light
Sparkling on the snow
To walk in the dark
You need a good friend
To stay by your side
Right to the end
When you’re with a friend
You’re always in light
No matter where
Even the dead of night

Leave a Reply

